Who Am I?


Remember that movie staring Jakie Chang, ‘Who Am I?’ good action movie right there. SO any way, i’m really sorry for they that come here only for photography, I’m in a phase of my life that i have many questions and i’m thinking of many things and as the year comes to a close, I’d like to think that it wasn’t a wasted year. I guess this is where I come to console myself so relax, the photos shall be back. For now though, lets break bread and reason together, you & I.

Who am I? Who are you? Are you described by what you do? What you stand for? Who your friends are? Conversations with my good friend and photographer James Quest got me really thinking about this. We discussed how twitter gives us 140 characters to express ourselves & make sense of it. 140 characters to describe who you are. I find this to be very hard to do but then realized that who we are and what we do are different, well not different but they are not the same thing.

I am a graduate architect, I am a photographer, I am a husband, I am a believer of Christ, I am an artist, I am a son….Is this my identity? If I grow blind, do I loose part of my identity as a photographer because I can’t shoot anymore, I don’t know. I’d like to believe though, that my being alive has made a considerable difference in this world, that there is something that would not be If I had not been. God did not create me, or you, and then try to figure out how he could use you in this world. You matter and that is a fact, there is something that was specifically placed in you to accomplish a specific purpose. Sometimes we just don’t see the purpose.

‘We all possess the thunder of pure fury and the calm breeze of tranquility.  If it wasn’t for tomorrow, how much would we get done today?  Whatever your purpose… embrace it completely.  Get lost in the clouds every now and then so you never lose sight of God’s wonder.”  – Paul Vitale

It hit me that just as a designer uses design to solve a problem, so was is our existence specifically engineered to a particular purpose. God designed us whether you believe it or not and I believe He designed us for a reason. I believe God operates from a larger than life perspective, seeing the end from the beginning and all. He knows what He needs me to do and therefore gave me the tools He knows I shall need to accomplish the mission. Therefore any talent or skill you have is also specifically engineered toward purpose. Your purpose. Your ‘Who you are’.

“There is a purpose to our lives that each day tugs at our sleeve as an annoying distraction.”  – Robert Brault

I therefore believe that the reason for my existence is who I am. The rest is just what I do. I do photography as part of my greater purpose. I design as part of my greater purpose. Everything means something and instead of coincidence we should see providence (remember the Matrix?).

My greatest hope for 2012 is to live a life of No Fear. By understanding who I am and why I do what I do, I shall trust God to take me to levels I wouldn’t imagine and trust Him enough to let go of stuff that does not add up to the greater reason of my existence. I don’t know what exactly that is but I know that it is greater than me, which is why I need a larger-than-life God to see it through. May you find your larger-than-life reason for existence, may it be revealed by the larger-than-life God.

“We have to be braver than we think we can be, because God is constantly calling us to be more than we are.” 
― Madeleine L’Engle

This is just to confuse my enemies. No seriously, I believe in the God who makes this, using words, now that’s Word!

 

4 thoughts on “Who Am I?

  1. dude, those pictures sick! you gotta go on a road trip, such rawtitude shouldn’t be confined to nairobi, when in fact kenya has so much more to offer. anyway, keep it up.

    stumbled upon this site from a list of great kenyan webdesigns. i gotta agree.

Leave a Reply

