Another Pink Friday – MUM ABOUT MAMMOGRAMS


It is another pink Friday here at the blog. This time the lovely Wanjeri Gakuru wrote and I shot for this breast cancer awareness project. I truly hope that we could kick cancer’s butt out of here and we learn, that we may take care of ourselves and be able to take care of the affected around us. The very thing that makes us human is our emotion so do not tuck it away, show some love to the affected and learn to care because that might just make a difference.

But in the meantime, go get checked.

‘Mum About Mammograms’ by Wanjeri

I’ve never gotten a mammogram so all I know about it is second-hand information i.e. snippets from movies and television series and the odd Google-age. The problem is that I have a negative attitude towards hospitals, tests and the general world of medicine.

I have a see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil attitude towards the whole thing. I fear that I speak for many people when I say that I have to get physically sick [bumps,bruises and blisters] to actually do something! But did you know that the world has been screaming at me from day one to get my act together?

I gaze upon my ‘lady lumps’ every day. [Can I really see no evil?]
I lost my grandma to cervical cancer way before I was born, so I grew
up knowing that my family has a history of cancer. [Will I hear no evil?]
I’m part of a campaign to raise awareness about breast cancer. [Shall I speak no evil?]

Maybe the women in snippets from the films and tv shows were wincing
in pain or covering their bits in shame, but you know what? Even if
they were acting it out, they did it, that which we all need to
do…for reals…

So I shall see no evil in getting a mammogram, I shall not hear my
mind as it says ‘there are no blisters or bruises or bumps’ and I’ll
definitely NOT stay mum about mammograms.


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

The Author

Wanjeri Gakuru aka [@mawazo_mengi] is a print journalist by profession working with UP Magazine -a very cool, very funky Kenyan publication – who also moonlights as a poet and short fiction writer. It is her hope to one day take on writing short fiction and maybe full-length novels on a full-time basis but in the meantime she goes about accumulating the knowledge of the world in order to tell her…your…our stories.

Visit her blog at [ wanjeri.wamathai.com ]

10 thoughts on “Another Pink Friday – MUM ABOUT MAMMOGRAMS

  1. I thot i was the only one who didn’t like hospitals and the tests that go with it. Reading this post has made me think again and I might just get checked;-)
    Thanks.

  2. This Beautiful images and good poetry should motivate people to get tested. If however that does not work I suggest next October we bring them horrific stories and images of breast cancer victims and see if that works!.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Another Pink Friday – MUM ABOUT MAMMOGRAMS « MUTUA MATHEKA -- Topsy.com

  4. I discovered your blog site on google and check a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you later on!?

  5. Pingback: A Manly Pinkish Friday – I HAVE BREASTS TOO! « MUTUA MATHEKA

Leave a Reply

