Personality Thursday [23] – Reader, Thinker, Observer


It is very hard for photographer‘s to be on the other side of the lens. We get jittery and want to control the outcome and all that instead of enjoying it, Diana Ngila wasn’t any different. But I have to say kudos for pulling it off and giving us great shots despite the fact that I told her she was going to be the model a few minutes before taking these. She took the info well, if you consider breaking out in a sweat and bringing on the puppy eyes to get out of it, taking it well. We had more than 5 photographers in the house so it was pretty intense. Now she must know what models go through.

Diana is one of my recent friends. I met her  at a concert recently(though I think we’d been tweeting before then). I really think she is an observer, a reason I am not surprised she is a photographer with journalistic tendencies. Also a reader and a person who processes stuff(in fact our shoot was centered around a book). All in all, she is someone I am glad I met. And it was her birthday a week ago, or so…(Feb people rock!) so Happy Birthday ma’am.

I shot these using Diana’s Canon 7D…cool camera that one.

Then these I did with my trusty Nikon D40, Didi

That last shot was for they that said I never shoot people while they laugh or smile, clearly I am trying this year, yes? Seriously I even got to get a hearty laugh from Anto last week.

This last shot is from David Mutua, a fellow brother of the lens…a kind of behind the scenes thing going on there.

10 thoughts on “Personality Thursday [23] – Reader, Thinker, Observer

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Personality Thursday [23] – Reader, Thinker, Observer « -- Topsy.com

  2. my coffee just became cold…
    you my photographer friend, alongside one David Mutua made life bearable that night :)
    and the rest of you guys shouting in the background Shaydest Kitots, Skubi focusing on my mouth, Amush on the cake, Murimi on the behind the scenes, B on my face, Njeri on the minute details, Kitots with his humor/vidography style of photography if we can call it that (subject to debate), alongside Nyingez…amazing night it was- and if i forgot to mention someone, am sure its coz the cake was causing a high…

    now that i feel like i have the hang of it, lets do SOOC shots in the outdoors of each other soon, yes with reflectors… :)

  3. I’m really feeling that purple light vibe. Also, love that photo no 6. If i’m not mistaken, you’ve broken that 1/3 rule, but (annoyingly), it looks AMAZING.

  4. @diana ati i was shouting in the background!?!? surely…i was seriously working wait till you see my results!!! hehehehe :)

    Great Job Muts and Diana for making life hard as a model :)

  5. Thanks all you guys for the comments. Diana was an itchy model, very concerned about all the glass pointing at her hahaha but I managed to calm her…at least enough to get these..

    @Rhoda, thanks, I don’t know why she was jittery yet she looks deadly on the other side of the lens too

    @Murphy, the purple light = cool stuff. And rules, are made to be broken, I think, thanks..

    @Stevo awaiting your outakes man

    @Rags, thanks man. This was my hardest shoot yet, I’m glad I got what we set out to get

  6. Right here is the perfect web site for anybody who would like to find out about this topic.

    You know so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally will
    need to…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin on a subject that’s been discussed for decades. Excellent stuff, just wonderful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 751 other followers

