Nairobi Night [100mm]


When a coupla photographers & I took on the heights that are the KICC helipad, one of many things could happen, lots of craziness, madness and maybe crazy photography. Steve & I were going to initiate some of our friends to the KICC helipad. Shaydest, Mwarv & Davie were to be the initiatees but only Shaydest was available. I think the word ‘initiation’ scared the rest :). Of course they came up with excuses like work, errands, stuff like that.

Obviously such clandestine activities take place in the cover of dark so we had to wait till the city lit up so we could light our initiation candles without rousing suspicion from from the KICC authorities. The short of the story is that Shaydy survived the hurdles (some included, shooting blind, with no auto-focus, while hoping on one leg-this is the stuff he never wrote on his blog) and did well on all the challenges. So he became initiated into the community of “Those that take photos from the KICC”(what, you thought there would be a fancy name for this?)

Thanks to Steve, Shaydest, Atieno, Nonnie, Murimi, Ciku, Diana, Skubi, Katts, Njeri and the rest whom I don’t remember for coming through and making it quite the experience up there.

100mm

Seriously though, I was using Skubi’s Canon this day(first time using a Canon up there) with a 100mm f/2.8 prime lens. I know it is a strange lens to use for wide shots but I say I like to try something different. When you shoot severally from one place, it is easy to produce the same kind of shots so one way of getting a different view, is seeing things differently. With this lens everything was so close, it was prompting me to capture differently. Nuff said

Oh and btw, contrary to expectation, these aren’t HDR.

36 thoughts on “Nairobi Night [100mm]

  1. I’m networking to try and get votes for a photo shoot contest I have entered.

    Hi! My name is Hallie and I have entered a Savvy Magazine photo shoot contest. I know you don’t know me but the winners are chosen by the public and if the public doesn’t know they need to vote…well, you guessed it, no one votes! Could you take a moment and look at my photos and decide if you would vote for me or not?

    There are over 1000 of us trying to get to those top ten positions. If you don’t think I am top ten material scroll through the small icons to the right of mine and pick one of those ladies! One little click of your finger can help make somebodies dream a reality! You can vote once a day, everyday until January 1st! Thank You!

    http://www.exploremodeling.com/Casting/SavvySpring2011/46935/Hallie_Miller.aspx

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Nairobi Night [100mm] « MUTUA MATHEKA -- Topsy.com

  3. I love these shots, Mutua. Next time — it’s been 35 years since the last time! — I’m in Nairobi, you are going to have to initiate me to that helipad.

    Question: On the vertical shot of the comms tower, as you took the various individual shots that make up your panorama, how did your exposure change as you moved into areas of greater or lesser light and how did you compensate for that to get the lovely seamless shot you show above?

    Thanks,
    Francis.

    • Wow 35 years is a long time, but it’s never too late to get initiated in the helipad :-). Thanks Francis.

      For that shot, I metered for the top bit because I knew that the bottom part would be taken care of by the strong light from the streets. That way the photo looked seamless. The other way is to go HDR. I normally do but decided to let it rest for this shots

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 771 other followers

